Our Thoughts on the Value of Wedding Tradition

by letsgohandinhand

Let me share this piece of a letter I wrote to Mg during the early years of our courtship. I did not want him feel burden for any prospect to hold a costly wedding for me. At that time, we were not even engaged yet but we were a committed couple with a plan to tie the knot one day and we often had talks on the wedding plan. In the letter, I clearly said that, when the time we decide to marry, my only request to him was to ask the permission from my parents first. Of course, I want my husband-to-be shows and holds a proper respect to my parents as well. And, I continued in my letter that  new clothes or holding a wedding ceremony are not requisites to make me his wife by saying a simple one with only close family members.

We live in a culture that people determine that how lucky a bride is based on how extravagant and luxurious wedding she gets. Big and grand weddings with hundreds of guests in attendance are more desirable in my country’s culture (perhaps, in all culture.)  Many couples feel social pressure to spend excessively for the weddings, to make them bigger and better show, more than they could afford. People would say that girls grow up with a dream to get a luxurious and fancy wedding event and meeting someone who could afford for it.  Luckily, I never ever had that kind of dreams at all. I love traditions, but I will never fall into superficial things. Families of my husband and mine were not rich. Even if we were, we would never have spent on the things just to show our status and wealth. I see marriage ceremonies as a good opportunity for the families members and friends from both sides to get introduced and extend the circle of friendship. It should be a family-friendly, intimate, romantic, and fun event – not the event to show off your status and make others feel intimidated.

After seven years of courtship and long distance relationship, finally, we married at the Myanmar Embassy in Cairo, Egypt last February. It was just a two-soul weddings as our parents could not attend it. We did not have a chance to make this as an family celebration yet.  However, thanks to the very generous and considerate ambassador, his wife and all other officers, we had a very great time and happy celebration with the Myanmar Embassy and other Burmese community members in Cairo. Afterwards, we took a taxi back to the bank of Nile river and had a romantic Felucca sailing (Egypt’s traditional sailboat ride which costs us $6 per hour) along the Nile river and enjoyed the majestic Cairo sunset from there. The whole day and the whole process was so perfect, amazingly beautiful and romantic.

I am glad I had something to show to our little girl(s) one day to explain what is important and what is not. There are people who judge us and there are some society and peer pressure how things should be. But, we just try to stay true to ourselves. And, proud of what we have put things together so far. 🙂

